The charging station here in Goleta is so good, I’m going to give it another 15 or 30 minutes, and thrash out another post real quick.  I have two more charging stops today and I’m hoping to blog then as well – do some catching up.

Day 3, we started in Santa Rosa, CA and drove down to San Luis Obispo, CA.  That’s a distance of about 280 miles, so we had checkpoints added to collect more cards for our poker hands, that took us back and forth (if we wanted the cards).  The end result was more like 330 or 350 miles.

We crossed over the Golden Gate Bridge as part of the run.  It’s been said plenty before, but I’m onboard with the general “it’s magical” feeling about that bridge.

Crossing Golden Gate Bridge going S. into SF.

Crossing Golden Gate Bridge going S. into SF.

This by the way was the last warm moment of my morning.  On the other end of this bridge, the fog rolled in, the sun was shut out, and suddenly I was shivering.  I had this bright idea I would drive with the top off this day, after days and days of extreme heat.  Apparently the heat didn’t get to SF.

I also forgot I had seat heaters, so as I literally shivered my way through San Francisco to our first stop of the day, I finally just ate the power penalty and cranked up the cabin heat (yes, with the top still off).  Note to self – seat heaters are good, and the Roadster has them;  use them (even in July, in California, where it’s supposed to be hot).

Along the way this day, we visited Lightning motorcycles, Boardwalk Nissan (#1 dealer in Leaf sales I believe) in Redwood City, the Tesla Factory, and Zero Motorcycles.

Lightning Motorcycles - I was here

Lightning Motorcycles – I was here

The Tesla Service end of the Tesla Factory.  Tesla Factory = Big.

The Tesla Service end of the Tesla Factory. Tesla Factory = Big.

 

The cherry on top was a stop at Laguna Seca:

#969 at Laguna Seca, yearning to go down for a few laps

#969 at Laguna Seca, yearning to go down for a few laps

More later – time to get back on the road and visit the Tesla Topanga store.

